NSW Treasury

NSW Treasury has a highly skilled and professional team who manage the State’s finances and assets, monitor the performance of its commercial agencies and develop its financial and industrial relations policies. With over 500 analysts, economists and specialists from all backgrounds, we are known for the provision of quality advice and influence, excellence in delivery, and strong and transparent risk management.

Treasury was established in April 1824 and is the oldest continuing government agency in Australia. Read more about Treasury's history on our history timeline. It is a department within the meaning of Schedule 1 of the Government Sector Employment Act 2013.